Sports News

Raina believes Rohit Sharma would be India’s “go-to player” during their T20 World Cup campaign because he “always produces when it matters the most.”

For the 2019 T20 World Cup, Suresh Raina projected Rohit Sharma would be the "go-to player." On October 23, in Melbourne, India will face Pakistan in the Super 12 stage of their tournament.

Team India will require a bowling captain for the forthcoming T20 World Cup, which will start on October 16 in Australia, as Jasprit Bumrah is unable to play. The injured star was replaced by Mohammad Shami in Rohit Sharma’s lineup, and it appears that the team’s management went with experience.

The pacer, who hasn’t played in a T20 International match since the T20 World Cup, was crucial to Gujarat Titans’ IPL 2022 success and finished the tournament with 20 wickets, enough for sixth-highest total in the competition. But according to former player Suresh Raina, Bhuvneshwar Kumar is “still Rohit’s go-to guy” because “he always delivers.”

“Bhuvi is an experienced bowler. He has done really well. Sometimes you go for runs, but he still has that swing. He is still the go-to guy for the skipper because he always delivers when it mattered the most”, Raina said.

“When Virat scored a hundred, he also took five wickets against Afghanistan and bowled really well. He has that knuckleball, swing and he hits areas well”, he further added.

Bhuvneshwar has captured 85 wickets in 79 T20Is, including two five-wicket hauls. On October 23, in Melbourne, India will face Pakistan in the Super 12 stage of their tournament. India is also without Ravindra Jadeja and Deepak Chahar in addition to Bumrah. Jadeja hurt his knee during the Asia Cup this year. Chahar was initially included in the reserves, but a back issue prevented him from travelling to Australia. India still has two exhibition games left, taking on Australia on Monday and New Zealand on Wednesday.

Team India Squad: Rohit Sharma (c), KL Rahul, Virat Kohli, Suryakumar Yadav, Deepak Hooda, Rishabh Pant, Dinesh Karthik, Hardik Pandya, R Ashwin, Yuzvendra Chahal, Axar Patel, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Harshal Patel, Arshdeep Singh, Mohammad Shami.

Standby Players: Mohammed Siraj, Shreyas Iyer, Ravi Bishnoi, Shardul Thakur.


Your Opinion Counts !

Show More

Related Articles


Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker