Business NewsNational News

The new timetable for Indian Railways will take effect today

The "Trains at a Glance (TAG)" timetable, which incorporates the essential adjustments to increase punctuality as well as a provision for maintenance corridor blocks, will be in effect from October 1 onwards.

According to a release from the Ministry of Railways, the timetable will be made accessible on the official website of Indian Railways as well as as a “e-Book” that could be downloaded from the IRCTC website.

About 3,240 mail and express trains are operated by the Indian Railways, including the Vande Bharat Express, Gatimaan Express, Rajdhani Express, Shatabdi Express, Humsafar Express, Tejas Express, Duronto Express, Antyodaya Express, Garib Rath Express, Sampark Kranti Express, Yuva Express, Uday Express, and Janshatabdi Express.

In addition, about 3,000 passenger trains and 5,660 suburban trains are also operated over the Indian Railways network.

“Necessary changes in the time table have been incorporated to improve punctuality. Due to concerted efforts the punctuality of Mail/Express trains has improved by about 9% as compared to the punctuality during pre Covid (2019-20),” an official statement said.

It added that to provide sufficient time for the maintenance of the fixed infrastructure like track structure, signalling gears and overhead equipments, it has been planned to ensure provision for fixed corridor blocks. “The duration of these corridor blocks will be from three hours in each section. This will not only improve the reliability of the assets but also enhance passenger safety,” it said.

Your Opinion Counts !

Show More

Related Articles


Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker